Add Your Event


Homage to the Square: Ten Works by Joseph Albers

Presented by Birmingham Museum of Art at Birmingham Museum of Art, Birmingham

June 13 - November 07

Josef Albers is best known for the hundreds of paintings and prints from his series Homage to the Square, which explores the interaction of colors within a composition of three or four nested squares. In Homage to the Square: Ten Works by Josef Albers, a set of 10 screen prints from 1962, each print is poetically titled, encouraging visitors to make connections between the meaning behind the titles and the experience viewing the prints.

Josef Albers is best known for the hundreds of paintings and prints from his series Homage to the Square, which explores the interaction of colors within a composition of three or four nested squares. In Homage to the Square: Ten Works by Josef Albers, a set of 10 screen prints from 1962, each print is poetically titled, encouraging visitors to make connections between the meaning behind the titles and the experience viewing the prints.

[less-]

Dates & times

Tue, Oct 24 @ 10:00 am Wed, Oct 25 @ 10:00 am Thu, Oct 26 @ 10:00 am + 10 more dates and times

Fri, Oct 27 @ 10:00 am Sat, Oct 28 @ 10:00 am Sun, Oct 29 @ 12:00 pm Tue, Oct 31 @ 10:00 am Wed, Nov 01 @ 10:00 am Thu, Nov 02 @ 10:00 am Fri, Nov 03 @ 10:00 am Sat, Nov 04 @ 10:00 am Sun, Nov 05 @ 12:00 pm Tue, Nov 07 @ 10:00 am - Less dates

Admission

General Museum admission is free. Admission may be charged for special blockbuster exhibitions.

205-254-2565

Location

Birmingham Museum of Art Arrow icon

2000 Rev. Abraham Woods, Jr. Blvd, Birmingham, AL 35203

Full map and directions Arrow icon