Add Your Event


AFTERLIFE: Asian Art from the Weldon Collection

Presented by Birmingham Museum of Art at Birmingham Museum of Art, Birmingham

November 04 - January 28

AFTERLIFE: Asian Art from the Weldon Collection journeys across Asia to explore the fascinating role of art in this life and the next. Inspired by the bequest of Henry and June (“Jimmy”) Weldon, the exhibition includes a wide variety of sculpture, ceramics, and tomb wares that reflect ancient fashion trends, entertainments, status symbols and religions, throughout the ages. Over 60 works span thousands of years of history from China, Japan, India, the Himalayas and Southeast Asia.

AFTERLIFE: Asian Art from the Weldon Collection journeys across Asia to explore the fascinating role of art in this life and the next. Inspired by the bequest of Henry and June (“Jimmy”) Weldon, the exhibition includes a wide variety of sculpture, ceramics, and tomb wares that reflect ancient fashion trends, entertainments, status symbols and religions, throughout the ages. Over 60 works span thousands of years of history from China, Japan, India, the Himalayas and Southeast Asia.

[less-]

Dates & times

Sun, Nov 19 @ 12:00 pm Tue, Nov 21 @ 10:00 am Wed, Nov 22 @ 10:00 am + 34 more dates and times

Thu, Nov 23 @ 10:00 am Fri, Nov 24 @ 10:00 am Sat, Nov 25 @ 10:00 am Sun, Nov 26 @ 12:00 pm Tue, Nov 28 @ 10:00 am Wed, Nov 29 @ 10:00 am Thu, Nov 30 @ 10:00 am Fri, Dec 01 @ 10:00 am Sat, Dec 02 @ 10:00 am Sun, Dec 03 @ 12:00 pm Tue, Dec 05 @ 10:00 am Wed, Dec 06 @ 10:00 am Thu, Dec 07 @ 10:00 am Fri, Dec 08 @ 10:00 am Sat, Dec 09 @ 10:00 am Sun, Dec 10 @ 12:00 pm Tue, Dec 12 @ 10:00 am Wed, Dec 13 @ 10:00 am Thu, Dec 14 @ 10:00 am Fri, Dec 15 @ 10:00 am Sat, Dec 16 @ 10:00 am Sun, Dec 17 @ 12:00 pm Tue, Dec 19 @ 10:00 am Wed, Dec 20 @ 10:00 am Thu, Dec 21 @ 10:00 am Fri, Dec 22 @ 10:00 am Sat, Dec 23 @ 10:00 am Sun, Dec 24 @ 12:00 pm Tue, Dec 26 @ 10:00 am Wed, Dec 27 @ 10:00 am Thu, Dec 28 @ 10:00 am Fri, Dec 29 @ 10:00 am Sat, Dec 30 @ 10:00 am Sun, Dec 31 @ 12:00 pm - Less dates

Admission

General Museum admission is free. Admission may be charged for special blockbuster exhibitions.

205-254-2565

Location

Birmingham Museum of Art Arrow icon

2000 Rev. Abraham Woods, Jr. Blvd, Birmingham, AL 35203

Full map and directions Arrow icon