Add Your Event


Alabama Illustrated Exhibit

Presented by Birmingham Public Library at Birmingham Public Library - Central Branch, Birmingham

December 04 - February 02

An exhibit from the collections of the Birmingham Public Library Archives will be on display at the Central Library’s Fourth Floor Gallery. Alabama Illustrated: Engravings from 19th Century Newspapers features images of Alabama people, places, and events that appeared in national and international newspapers from the 1850s to the 1890s.

Prior to the 1890s, the technology did not exist to reproduce photographs in newspapers inexpensively. To provide illustrations for their readers,... [more+]

An exhibit from the collections of the Birmingham Public Library Archives will be on display at the Central Library’s Fourth Floor Gallery. Alabama Illustrated: Engravings from 19th Century Newspapers features images of Alabama people, places, and events that appeared in national and international newspapers from the 1850s to the 1890s.

Prior to the 1890s, the technology did not exist to reproduce photographs in newspapers inexpensively. To provide illustrations for their readers, national and international papers like Harper's WeeklyFrank Leslie's Illustrated Newspaper, and the Illustrated London News sent artists around the world to draw pictures that were then engraved onto copper plates and printed in the newspapers. Many of these artists visited Alabama, and this exhibition features 28 examples of their work. BPL Archivist Jim Baggett will offer a free gallery tour on Sunday, December 10, 2017, at 3:00 p.m. Reservations are not required. [less-]

Dates & times

Fri, Jan 19 @ 9:00 am Sat, Jan 20 @ 9:00 am Sun, Jan 21 @ 2:00 pm + 12 more dates and times

Mon, Jan 22 @ 9:00 am Tue, Jan 23 @ 9:00 am Wed, Jan 24 @ 9:00 am Thu, Jan 25 @ 9:00 am Fri, Jan 26 @ 9:00 am Sat, Jan 27 @ 9:00 am Sun, Jan 28 @ 2:00 pm Mon, Jan 29 @ 9:00 am Tue, Jan 30 @ 9:00 am Wed, Jan 31 @ 9:00 am Thu, Feb 01 @ 9:00 am Fri, Feb 02 @ 9:00 am - Less dates

Admission

Free and open to the public during library hours. BPL Archivist Jim Baggett will offer a free gallery tour on Sunday, December 10, 2017, at 3:00 p.m. Reservations are not required.

205-226-3631

Location