Add Your Event


Quilts of Gee's Bend

Presented by Alabama Folklife Association at Hoover Public Library, Hoover

December 01 - January 31

Friends Art Gallery / Dec 1 - Dec 31, 2017
Plaza Art Gallery / Jan 1 – Jan 31, 2017
The Gee’s Bend community is located on a peninsula of land formed by a bend in the Alabama River. This historically and culturally significant landscape holds deep within its roots Alabama’s greatest quilting tradition, recognized nationally and internationally for the innovative use of geometric shapes, the formation of complex patterns and the combination of diverse colors and textures. Once owned...
[more+]
Friends Art Gallery / Dec 1 - Dec 31, 2017
Plaza Art Gallery / Jan 1 – Jan 31, 2017
The Gee’s Bend community is located on a peninsula of land formed by a bend in the Alabama River. This historically and culturally significant landscape holds deep within its roots Alabama’s greatest quilting tradition, recognized nationally and internationally for the innovative use of geometric shapes, the formation of complex patterns and the combination of diverse colors and textures. Once owned by the planter class, the original slave population made quilts as a necessity to stay warm. Over time and through many periods of hardships and oppression, their descendants carried on the tradition. Today, several generations of people from Gee’s Bend continue making quilts that are now recognized as spectacular works of art. This exhibition was made possible by the Alabama Folklife Association.
[less-]

Dates & times

Sat, Jan 20 @ 10:00 am Sun, Jan 21 @ 2:00 pm Mon, Jan 22 @ 9:00 am + 9 more dates and times

Tue, Jan 23 @ 9:00 am Wed, Jan 24 @ 9:00 am Thu, Jan 25 @ 9:00 am Fri, Jan 26 @ 9:00 am Sat, Jan 27 @ 10:00 am Sun, Jan 28 @ 2:00 pm Mon, Jan 29 @ 9:00 am Tue, Jan 30 @ 9:00 am Wed, Jan 31 @ 9:00 am - Less dates

Admission

9-9 Mon-Thu 9-6 Fri 10-6 Sat 2-6 Sun

205-444-7800

Location

Hoover Public Library Arrow icon

200 Municipal Drive, Hoover, AL 35216

Full map and directions Arrow icon