Add Your Event


Textures of Jazz, Threads of Change Exhibit

Presented by Birmingham Public Library at Birmingham Public Library - Central Branch, Birmingham

February 06 - March 31

The art exhibit, Textures of Jazz: Threads of Change by Leanna Leithauser-Lesley, will be on display in the Central Library's Fourth Floor Gallery from February 6 through March 31, 2018. Textures of Jazz, Threads of Change is a 21-piece jazz portrait exhibition by Birmingham artist Leanna Leithauser-Lesleyin honor of Black History Month. Her collection of jazz needlepoint portraits are accompanied by bios explaining the role each musician played in jazz history, American history, and... [more+]
The art exhibit, Textures of Jazz: Threads of Change by Leanna Leithauser-Lesley, will be on display in the Central Library's Fourth Floor Gallery from February 6 through March 31, 2018. Textures of Jazz, Threads of Change is a 21-piece jazz portrait exhibition by Birmingham artist Leanna Leithauser-Lesleyin honor of Black History Month. Her collection of jazz needlepoint portraits are accompanied by bios explaining the role each musician played in jazz history, American history, and civil rights history. The exhibit will feature two workshops by the artist on February 14 and 15 between 11:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m., with live music in Central Library’s Atrium. An opening reception will be held on Thursday, February 15, noon to 2:00 p.m., in the Fourth Floor Gallery. There will be music and light refreshments. Leithauser-Lesley received a BA in art education from Auburn University. Though she has done art in many mediums throughout her career, her passion as an avid needle pointer and music lover led her to put together the Textures of Jazz exhibit. Her exhibit has appeared across the Southeast, including Atlanta and at the Hoover Public Library in 2017. [less-]

Dates & times

Sat, Feb 24 @ 9:00 am Sun, Feb 25 @ 2:00 pm Mon, Feb 26 @ 9:00 am + 31 more dates and times

Tue, Feb 27 @ 9:00 am Wed, Feb 28 @ 9:00 am Thu, Mar 01 @ 9:00 am Fri, Mar 02 @ 9:00 am Sat, Mar 03 @ 9:00 am Sun, Mar 04 @ 2:00 pm Mon, Mar 05 @ 9:00 am Tue, Mar 06 @ 9:00 am Wed, Mar 07 @ 9:00 am Thu, Mar 08 @ 9:00 am Fri, Mar 09 @ 9:00 am Sat, Mar 10 @ 9:00 am Sun, Mar 11 @ 2:00 pm Mon, Mar 12 @ 9:00 am Tue, Mar 13 @ 9:00 am Wed, Mar 14 @ 9:00 am Thu, Mar 15 @ 9:00 am Fri, Mar 16 @ 9:00 am Sat, Mar 17 @ 9:00 am Sun, Mar 18 @ 2:00 pm Mon, Mar 19 @ 9:00 am Tue, Mar 20 @ 9:00 am Wed, Mar 21 @ 9:00 am Thu, Mar 22 @ 9:00 am Fri, Mar 23 @ 9:00 am Sat, Mar 24 @ 9:00 am Sun, Mar 25 @ 2:00 pm Mon, Mar 26 @ 9:00 am Tue, Mar 27 @ 9:00 am Wed, Mar 28 @ 9:00 am Thu, Mar 29 @ 9:00 am - Less dates

Admission

Free and open to the public during Central Library's hours of operation.

205-226-3601

Location